How may I Direct Your Click?™

 

RV Help Desk
A Growing On-Line RV Resource Center & Community

 

RV Tips

 

USA Seat Belt Laws by State 

Knowing the seat belt and traffic laws where you travel is important. We receive a lot of questions about what is required for seat belts in each state as you travel through out the US.


Here is the best resource we have been able to find.  This is provided as a guide only and we recommend you contact each state you plan to travel in for the most current seat belt and traffic laws. 

 

 

RV Education

RV Vacations

RV Forum

RV Tips

RV Wear

 

State or U.S. Territory 1

Type of Law 2

Fine3

Coverage

Seats

Persons

   

Vehicles Exempted

Alabama

Primary

$25

Front

Ages 6+ except medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery

Vehicles for > 10 passengers, model year < 1965, vehicles driving in reverse

Alaska

Secondary

$15

All

All

except medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery

School buses, vehicles with no safety belts, emergency vehicles

Arizona

Secondary

$10

All in front seat & ages 5-15 in rear, except medical reason or mail delivery

Vehicles for > 10 passengers, model year < 1972

Arkansas

Secondary

$25

Front

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

School, church, & public buses; model year < 1968

California

Primary

$20

All

All except medical reason, newspaper/rural mail delivery, waste/recycling collection

Emergency vehicles

Colorado

Secondary

$15

All

All except medical reason, delivery/pickup services; primary law if driver < 18

Buses, ambulances, farm tractors, husbandry vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts

Connecticut

Primary

$37

All in front seat and 4-16 in rear, except reason or delivery service

if medical

Vehicles > 10,000 lbs, public vehicles, emergency vehicles

Delaware

Primary

$25

All

All except medical reason, mail delivery

Tractors, off-road vehicles

District of Columbia

Primary

$50 + 2 points

All

All except medical reason

Taxis, vehicles for > 9 passengers, farm vehicles, model year <1966

Florida

Secondary

$30

All in front seat and 6-17 in rear, except medical reason or newspaper delivery

Living space of RVs, school & public buses, farm tractors, trash trucks, trucks > 5,000 lbs.

Georgia

Primary

$15

All

in front seat, and 6-17 in rear, except medical or newspaper/rural mail delivery

reason

Pickup trucks, off-road vehicles, vehicles for > 10 passengers, emergency vehicles, vehicles making frequent stops, vehicles in reverse, model year < 1965

Hawaii

Primary

$45

All in front seat and 4-17 in rear, except medical reason

Taxis, buses & school buses > 10,000 lbs, emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts

Idaho

Secondary

$10

All

All, except if medical reason, all belts used, or mail delivery

Vehicles > 8,000 lbs, emergency vehicles, husbandry vehicles

Illinois

Primary

$25

All in front seat and 8-15 in rear, except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts, vehicles in reverse

Indiana

Primary

$25

All in front seat and 4-11 in rear, except medical reason or delivery service

Pickup trucks, buses, trucks, tractors, RVs, SUVs registered as pickup trucks

Iowa

Primary

$25

All

in front seat and under 11 in rear, except medical reason, delivery service, or bus passenger

Emergency vehicles

Kansas

Secondary

$10

All in front seat and 4-14 in rear, except medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery

Farm vehicles > 16,000 lbs, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 12,000 lbs, off-road vehicles

Kentucky

Secondary

$25

All

All except medical reason or mail delivery

Farm vehicles > 2,000 lbs, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 12,000 lbs, model year < 1965

Louisiana

Primary

$25-$50

All in front seat and 6-12 in rear, except medical reason or mail delivery

Farm vehicles within 5 miles of farm, model year < 1981, vehicles for > 10 people

Maine

Secondary

$25-$50

All

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Taxis, vehicles manufactured without belts

Maryland

Primary

$25

Front outboard

All except medical reason or mail delivery

Taxis, vanpools, hearses, farm vehicles within 10 miles of farm, antique vehicles, emergency vehicles

Massachusetts

Secondary

$25

All

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Taxis, buses, tractors, livery vehicles, trucks > 18,000 lbs, emergency vehicles

Michigan

Primary

$25

All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason or delivery service

School buses, model year < 1965, vehicles not required to have belts

Minnesota

Secondary

$25

All in front seat and 4-10 in rear, except medical reason, rural mail delivery, or when all belts used

Farm pickup trucks; school buses; model year < 1965; vehicles in reverse, making frequent stops, or < 25 mph

Mississippi

Secondary

$25

All in front seat and 4-10 in rear, except medical reason or meter reader

Farm vehicles, ATVs, buses, trailers, vehicles for > 15 passengers, husbandry vehicles

Missouri

Secondary

$10

All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason, mail delivery, or all belts used; primary law for < 16

Farm vehicles, vehicles for >10 people or used for agriculture, trucks > 12,000 lbs, model year < 1968

Montana

Secondary

$20

All

All except medical reason or all belts used

Vehicles with frequent stops, special mobile equipment vehicles

Nebraska

Secondary

$25

All in front seat and 4-18 in rear, except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Farm vehicles, buses, emergency vehicles, parade vehicles, model year < 1973

Nevada

Secondary

$25

All

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Taxis; buses; emergency vehicles; vehicles not required to have belts, making frequent stops, or < 15 mph

New Hampshire

No law for ages 18+

$25

All

Primary law for < 18

Taxis, school buses, antique vehicles, parade vehicles, model year < 1968

 

State or U.S. Territory 1

Type of Law 2

Fine3

Coverage

Seats

Persons

   

Vehicles Exempted

New Jersey

Primary

$42

All in front seat and 8-17 in rear, except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Vehicles manufactured before 1966, vehicles not required to have belts

New Mexico

Primary

$25 + 2 points

All

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Vehicles > 10,000 lbs.

New York

Primary

$50 or more + 3 points

All in front seat and < 15 in rear, except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Taxes, non-school buses, livery vehicles

North Carolina

Primary

$25

All in front seat and < 15 in rear, except medical reason or delivery service

Commercial vehicles; farm vehicles; emergency vehicles; vehicles for > 11 people, making frequent stops, or < 20 mph

North Dakota

Secondary

$20

All in front seat and 7-17 in rear, except medical reason, rural mail delivery, or all belts used

Farm vehicles, vehicles for > 10 people, husbandry vehicles

Ohio

Secondary

$25

Front

All

except medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery

None

Oklahoma

Primary

$20

All in front seat and 6-12 in rear, except medical reason or mail delivery

RVs, trucks, tractors

Oregon

Primary

$94

All

All except medical reason, newspaper/mail delivery, meter reader, or when all belts used

Taxis, transit vehicles, trash trucks, emergency vehicles, vehicles for > 15 passengers or not required to have belts

Pennsylvania

Secondary

$10

All in front seat and 8-17 in rear, except medical reason or delivery service < 15 mph

Trucks > 7,000 lbs, model year < 1966

Rhode Island

Secondary

$75

All

All except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1966

South Carolina

Secondary

$10

All

All

except medical reason, delivery service, or all belts used

School, church, and daycare buses, public transit, vehicles for > 10 passengers, parade vehicles

South Dakota

Secondary

$20

All in front seat and < 18 in rear, except medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery; primary law for < 18

Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1973

Tennessee

Primary

$10-$20

All in front seat and < 16 in rear, except medical reason, newspaper/mail delivery, utility worker, or auto dealer/mechanic within 1 mile of dealership

Public vehicles, vehicles > 8,500 lbs, parade vehicles, hayrides, livery vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts or < 15 mph between fields

Texas

Primary

$25-$200

All in front seat and < 17 in rear, except medical reason, newspaper/mail delivery, or utility worker

Farm vehicles, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 15,000 lbs

Utah

Secondary

$15-$45

All

All except if medical reason or all belts used

Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1966

Vermont

Secondary

$10

All

All except if medical reason, rural mail delivery, or delivery < 15 mph

Taxis, buses, farm tractors, emergency vehicles

Virginia

Secondary

$25

All in front seat and < 16 in rear, except medical reason, newspaper/rural mail delivery, meter reader, or parking enforcement

Taxis, police vehicles, vehicles for > 10 passengers, municipal and delivery vehicles with frequent stops

Washington

Primary

$101

All

All except medical reason or all belts used

Farm vehicles, construction vehicles, vehicles for > 10 passengers, commercial vehicles with frequent stops

West Virginia

Secondary

$25

All in front seat and < 17 in rear, except medical reason or rural mail delivery

Vehicles for > 10 passengers

Wisconsin

Secondary

$10

All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason, newspaper/rural mail delivery, or land surveyor

Taxis, farm trucks, emergency vehicles, vehicles with frequent stops or not required to have belts

Wyoming

Secondary

$10-$25

All

All except medical reason, mail delivery, or all belts used

Buses, emergency vehicles

American Samoa

Primary

$25

All

Ages 4+

None

Guam

Primary

$50

Front

All

None

N. Mariana Islands

Primary

$25

All

Ages 5+

Vehicles carrying large industrial

construction equipment

Puerto Rico

Primary

$50

All

All

None

 

 

1 Laws as of October 2005. Most jurisdictions also have laws requiring that certain children be in child safety seats or booster seats. We do not present these laws here. Safety belt laws are more complex than can be conveyed in this Table, and so the reader should consult each State or Territory’s law for its exact coverage and penalties. Motorists in jurisdictions with primary belt enforcement laws can be stopped and ticketed simply for not using a safety belt.

2 Under a secondary law, motorists can only be ticketed for belt nonuse if they have been stopped for another infraction, such as an expired license tag.

3 The fines presented here are the fines on the ticket. can only be ticketed for belt nonuse if they have been stopped for another infraction, such as an expired license tag. They do not include court costs and surcharges.

This public information was provided by NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION

New Data Show Rising Safety Belt Use Rates in Most States

More Americans than ever are wearing their safety belts with usage rates climbing in 34 states this year, according to U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Y. Mineta.

In 2005, safety belt use ranged from 60.8 percent in Mississippi to 95.3 percent in Hawaii. Others breaking the 90 percent belt use barrier included Washington, Nevada, Arizona, Oregon, Michigan, California, Puerto Rico and Maryland.

Mississippi registered the lowest safety belt use in the nation followed by Massachusetts, Kentucky, Arkansas, South Dakota and Kansas. New Hampshire and Wyoming were the only states not to report statistically reliable estimates of belt use rate for 2005.

"Safety belts are useless unless people make the effort to wear them", Mineta said.  "It's good to see more people taking their safety seriously, but we'll save the celebration for the day when everyone buckles up," he added.

Earlier this year, Secretary Mineta announced that the nationwide survey conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) showed belt use rates have hit the milestone of 82 percent -- the highest level in the nation’s history.  Secretary Mineta also announced earlier that fatalities had hit a historic low: 1.46 deaths per 100 million vehicle miles traveled (VMT).

At a rate of 82 percent, NHTSA estimates that safety belts are preventing 15,700 fatalities, 350,000 serious injuries, and $67 billion in economic costs associated with traffic injuries and deaths every year.

In addition to the life-saving benefits of increased belt use, Congress created additional incentives for states. Under the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) enacted Aug. 10, an added $498 million will be available to states over the next four years. States must either adopt a primary law or achieve 85 percent belt use for two years in order to be eligible for the grants.

The state-by-state statistics were derived from data collected by the states’ own surveys, conducted in accord with criteria established by NHTSA.

Click here to view state-by-state safety belt use rate data on the Internet

 

Copyright